COUNTY OF KANE

Public Information Office



Kane County Government Center 719 South Batavia Avenue Geneva, IL 60134 MannJulie@co.kane.il.us

Alex Arroyo Appointed to Kane County Board District 7 Aurora

(Media Release 1/15/25) The Kane County Board approved the appointment of Alex Arroyo to represent County Board District 7 in Aurora during the January 14, 2025 board meeting. Arroyo will fill the vacancy created by Dr. Monica Silva, who was recently elected Kane County Coroner.

As a lifelong resident of Kane County, Arroyo brings public service and community engagement experience to his new role. He has served as Vice President of the East Aurora District 131 Board of Education since 2015, where he has worked to improve student achievement, develop and adopt policies, oversee facilities, and manage budgets. His roles on various committees, including Policy, Personnel, Finance, and Curriculum, demonstrate his commitment to fostering educational success in the community.

In addition to his service on the school board, Arroyo worked as a staff member for then-State Representative Linda Chapa LaVia, coordinating events such as veterans' job fairs and community outreach programs while assisting with constituent services. He has also been involved with numerous local organizations, including the Labor Council for Latin American Advancement (LCLAA) and the Aurora Historical Society.

Arroyo's professional experience includes his role as a flight attendant for United Airlines since 1994. He holds a Bachelor of Aviation Management from Southern Illinois University Carbondale and is fluent in Spanish and French, with conversational proficiency in Portuguese.

"We all wear different hats and represent different districts," said Arroyo. "But in the end, we must set aside our differences, engage in dialogue, and work together. I have a lot to learn, and I look forward to working with all of you."

"Alex Arroyo's background in public service, combined with his commitment to the Aurora community, makes him a strong choice for County Board District 7," said Kane County Board Chairman Corinne Pierog. "We look forward to the perspectives and leadership he will bring to the board."

Arroyo was sworn in during the Kane County Board meeting on January 14, 2025, shortly after his appointment was approved by the board.

For a list of all Kane County Board members and districts, visit the Kane County Board Members.